| Geochemistry | > > Geochemistry Department

December 11, 2007

The Four "Ds" of New Leadership

ESD's new Division Director, Don DePaolo quietly stepped into the ESD office on October 1 (2007). In his first Town Hall meeting with the ESD staff on November 1, Don commented that so far it has "been fun". Drs. Steven Chu and Graham Fleming commended Ernie Majer for his great leadership as the Acting ES Division Director during the past year and "officially" handed the reigns over to Don. Read more about our new Division Director here.

And...Thanks Ernie!

{image details: You can still find Ernie's feet on the desk when he's on the phone.}

August 21, 2007

ESD's New Geologic Carbon Sequestration Program

ESD decided to review its program areas to determine if the right programs/research themes were being represented within its organization. Within the past few months, what emerged was the Geologic Carbon Sequestration Program (GCS). The GCS was formed from three projects originally in the Climate Change and Carbon Management Program (GEO SEQ, WestCarb, and ZERT). Other projects, including one sponsored by the Environmental Protection Agency, will also be managed under this new program. Led by Larry Myer and Curt Oldenburg, the GCS is in a position to respond to an increasing research need by DOE and the Western region of injecting carbon underground, and more. For more information contact Curt Oldenburg and look for a reorganized and updated GCS Program website soon. ESD anticipates the logistical details associated with the formation of the Geologic Carbon Sequestration Program to be finalized by October 1, 2007.

August 21, 2007

ESD's New Climate Science Department

ESD enhanced its technical expertise in the area of climate modeling and prediction by hiring Sr. Scientist, Bill Collins. As a Department Head, Bill is now set to lead a newly formed ES Department called, Climate Science which consolidates staff from ESD's four other departments (Ecology, Geochemistry, Geophysics, and Hydrogeology). ESD anticipates the formation of the Climate Science Department to officially commence by October 1, 2007.