Earth Sciences Division (ESD) Department of Energy (DOE) Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)
ESD Division Council
Photo by: Roy Kaltschmidt
Earth Sciences Division Council

Earth Sciences Division Committees

The Earth Sciences Division (ESD) committees and Lab-wide committees enable ESD and LBNL to make decisions, take action on, or report on some subject matter critical to operational and scientific activities. If you would like more information or are interested in participating on discussions regarding the subject areas identified below, please feel free to contact the representative or member identified below.

ESD Organized Committees and Councils


Distinguished Scientists Seminiar Series Committee

Chair: Eoin Brodie

Members Jonathan Ajo-Franklin, Jeff Chambers, Peter Nico, Shibo Wang

Administrative Liaison: Sara Hefty

Capital Equipment & Instrumentation Committee

Chair: Mark Conrad

Members: Greg Newman, Margaret Torn, Eoin Brodie, Carl Steefel, Vivi Fissekidou, Tom Daley, Stefan Finsterle, Peter Lau

CEIC Sub-committees: Computational Resources, Laboratory Resources, Field Support Resources

Professional Staff Committee (PSC)



Division Council

Chair: Susan Hubbard

Members: Program Heads, Department Heads, Business Manager, Human Resources, Safety Coordinator

Division Safety Committee

Chair: Vivi Fissekidou

Members: Please click here to see complete list.

Move Advisory Committee (MAC) (est. 2009-2012)

Chairs: Ernie Majer and Maryann Villavert

Members: Mark Conrad, Tim Kneafsey, Janet Jansson, Bill Collins, Terry Hazen, Stefan Finsterle, Don DePaolo, Curt Oldenburg, Tetsu Tokunaga, Margaret Torn, Greg Newman, Ronnie Woods

Lab-wide Committee and Council Representatives

Communications Council - Maryann Villavert (2009-Present)

Conference Council - Carol Valladao

CSAC & CPIC - Peter Lau

Diversity and Inclusion Council - Jim Houseworth (2011-Present)

Division Business Council (DBC) - Peter Lau (2013-Present)

Financial $ystems Modernization (F$M) Advisory Committee (2011-Present) - Susan Hubbard (2011 - 2013); Mark Conrad (2013-Present)

IT Council (ITC) - TBD

Lab Staff Committee (LSC) - TBD

Laboratory Support Advisory Committee (LSAC) - Ernie Majer

Library Committee - John Christensen

Property Management - Karen Elliott & Peter Lau

Resource Management Leadership Council (RMLC) - Grace Miller

Safety Advisory Committee (SAC) - John Christensen

Space Planning and Advisory Committee (SPAC) - Ernie Majer (2010 - 2013)

Travel Liaison Committee (TLC) - Karen Elliott

Women Scientists and Engineers Council (WSEC) - Yingqi Zhang