Earth Sciences Division (ESD) Department of Energy (DOE) Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)

Earth Sciences Division Staff: W. Stephen Chan

Wai-yin Chan

W. Stephen Chan

Scientific Engineering Associate

Climate Sciences Department 



Phone: 510-486-4194

Fax: 510-486-6819


Additional Information











Biographical Summary

Stephen Chan is a Scientific Engineering Associate at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He is an environmental scientist and micrometeorologist who studies exchanges of mass and energy at the land-atmosphere boundary using eddy covariance. Since 2011, he has been a part of the AmeriFlux Quality Assurance and Quality Control (QA/QC) team which is responsible for maintaining high data fidelity across the AmeriFlux network using a portable eddy covariance system. He holds a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley (2001) and a Ph.D. in Environmental Sciences from the University of Virginia (2011).


Ph.D. Environmental Sciences, University of Virginia (2011) 

B.S. Chemical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley (2001)

Professional Experience

Scientific Engineering Associate, Earth Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2013-present)

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Department of Forest Ecosystems and Society, Oregon State University (2011-2013) 

Graduate Research Assistant, Department of Environmental Sciences, University of Virginia

Awards and Honors

Huskey travel award, University of Virginia (2010)

Dissertation Year Fellowship, University of Virginia (2010)

Best oral presentation, Environmental Sciences Student Research Symposium, University of Virginia (2010)

Selected participant, NCAR Advanced Study Program Summer Colloquium – Exploring the Atmosphere: Observational Instruments and Techniques (2009)

NASA Group Achievement Award (2007)

Atmospheric Sciences Graduate Award, University of Virginia (2007)

Michael Garstang Award, University of Virginia (2006)

Presidential Fellowship, University of Virginia (2005-2009)