Ecology

  • LS197_mcm-LBNL-blueProductPhoto

    Biological Technologies

    Ecology scientists are developing biological technologies that are used for energy, environmental, and health applications.

    Read More
  • NGEE-Arctic-Boardwalk-2013

    Environmental Molecular Microbiology

    Our scientists have applied diverse expertise to studies of the metabolic functioning of bacteria and archaea that mediate processes of environmental relevance.

    Read More
  • HEADS-Quinn-Student

    Hydroecological Engineering

    Hydroecological engineers are experts at decision-support systems, deployment of real-time flow and water-quality sensors, and mathematical models.

    Read More

Overview

In 1995 the Center for Environmental Biotechnology (CEB) was set up as a multidivisional center under the direction of Dr. Jennie Hunter-Cevera. In 1998, the Ecology Department was created within the Earth Sciences Division to provide personnel resource management for scientists and engineers within ESD whose expertise was in the general area of ecology, including population ecology, community ecology, systems ecology and environmental engineering. This was a new department, and the personnel were originally scattered among the other ESD departments, though most were originally organized under the CEB. In 1999, the name of the Ecology Department was changed to the Microbial Ecology and Environmental Engineering Department, because it was felt that this more closely reflected the expertise of the small group of scientists and engineers that were within that department. Hydroecological engineering advanced decision support (HEADS) was organized as a new group within the Department in the spring of 2002. This group focused on water and wastewater research, with an initial special emphasis on California water resource issues. The department name was changed back to the Ecology Department in 2004. Today, personnel in the Ecology Department still serve as the primary support staff for the CEB, which houses all of their offices and laboratory facilities.

The expertise that exists within the Ecology Department and the unique facilities provided by the CEB allow the department to provide biogeochemistry, microbial ecology, and environmental engineering support within ESD and Berkeley Lab. Currently, personnel are primarily supported by the three Programs under the Environmental & Biological Systems Sciences Program Area, which are the Environmental Remediation & Water Resources; Ecosystems Biology, and Bioenergy. Additionally, Ecology personnel are supported by various Programs within Energy Resources Program Area and the Climate and Carbon Sciences Program Area.

Core Capabilities

LS197_mcm-LBNL-blueProductPhoto

Biological Technologies

Ecology Department scientists are experts at developing biological technologies that are used for energy, environmental, and health applications. Our personnel hold key positions in a wide range of biofuel-related projects, which include discovery of fuel-related biosynthetic enzymes and heterologous expression or re-engineering of fuel-related metabolic pathways in bacteria (including cyanobacteria), algae, and plants. Examples of…

NGEE-Arctic-Boardwalk-2013

Environmental Molecular Microbiology

Ecology Department scientists have applied diverse expertise to studies of the metabolic functioning of bacteria and archaea that mediate processes of environmental relevance, such as (a) aquifer bioremediation of metals and organic contaminants and (b) biogeochemical cycling of carbon and other elements. Department scientists have the expertise to perform field and laboratory studies of complex…

Adrian Low

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2795

Anthony T. Le

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5335
atle@lbl.gov

Bryson Alvon Cwick

Phone: (510) 486-4091
BACwick@lbl.gov

Cinta Gomez Silvan

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4000
cgomezsilvan@lbl.gov

Dara Goodheart

Affiliate

Phone: 510-642-4867
dgoodheart@lbl.gov

ackerly-david-portrait

David Ackerly

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-6341
dackerly@lbl.gov

Dedi Liu

Phone: 510-486-7056
dediliu@lbl.gov

Elizabeth Holman

Phone: 510-486-5943
eaholman@lbl.gov

portrait_emmanuelprestat

Emmanuel Prestat

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-8082
Fax: 510-486-7152
eprestat@lbl.gov

brodie-eoin-portrait

Eoin Brodie

Terrestrial Microbiologist
Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6584
Fax: 510-486-7152
elbrodie@lbl.gov

Eric King

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6162
eking@lbl.gov

dubinsky-eric-portrait

Eric Dubinsky

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5022
eadubinsky@lbl.gov

Erin E. Nuccio

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2795

williams-evan-portrait

Evan R. Williams

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-7161

Fotios Bekris

Phone: (510) 495-2795
BFotios@lbl.gov

Gabrielle Pecora

Affiliate

Phone: 707-888-8704
gpecora@lbl.gov

andersen-gary-portrait

Gary Andersen

Microbial Ecologist
Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2795
Fax: 510-486-7152
glandersen@lbl.gov

Giovanni Birarda

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2658
gbirarda@lbl.gov

Greg H. Rau

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7056

Gregory Mark Enns

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5943
gmenns@lbl.gov

Hank Fanchiu

Phone: 510-486-4000

harry beller

Harry R. Beller

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7321
Fax: 510-486-7152
hrbeller@lbl.gov

Hilary Brunner

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4000
hbrunner@lbl.gov

holman-hoiying-portrait

Hoi-Ying N. Holman

Director of Berkeley Synchrotron Infrared Structural Biology
Head, Chemical Ecology

Phone: 510-486-5943
Fax: 510-486-7152
hyholman@lbl.gov

James C. Bartholomew

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4000
jcbartholomew@lbl.gov

Javier Ceja Navarro - ESD studio portrait.

Javier Arturo Ceja Navarro

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7709
jcnavarro@lbl.gov

geller-jil-portrait

Jil T. Geller

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-7313
Fax: 510-486-7079
jtgeller@lbl.gov

Jizhong Zhou

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6223
jzzhou@lbl.gov

John R. Hulls

Phone: 510-495-2795
jrhulls@lbl.gov

John S. Reed

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7541
jsreed@lbl.gov

Kari Finstad

Phone: 510-486-4498

Kateryna Zhalnina

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6584
kzhalnina@lbl.gov

Kenneth Charles Zahn

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7541
kczahn@lbl.gov

Kevin Loutherback

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-495-2658
kloutherback@lbl.gov

Regina Lamendella

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7384
rlamendella@lbl.gov

Lauren Tom - ESD studio portrait

Lauren Tom

Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-5884
Fax: 510-486-7152
ltom@lbl.gov

Ling Meng

Phone: 510-486-4594
lmeng@lbl.gov

Lisa Alvarez Cohen

Mechanical Engineer

Phone: 510-643-5969
lalvarez-cohen@lbl.gov

Mari Johanna Nyyssonen

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4118
mjnyyssonen@lbl.gov

firestone-mary-portrait

Mary Firestone

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-3677
mfirestone@lbl.gov

singer-mary-portrait

Mary E. Singer

Senior Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-5808
Fax: 510-486-7152
mesinger@lbl.gov

Maude M. David

Postdoctoral Fellow - Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4000
mmdavid@lbl.gov

Neslihan Tas - Earth Sciences (ESD) portrait

Neslihan Tas Baas

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5538
Fax: 510-486-7152
ntas@lbl.gov

Nicholas Bouskill - Earth Scienced Divison studio portrait.

Nicholas J. Bouskill

Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7490
Fax: 510-486-5686
njbouskill@lbl.gov

quinn-nigel-portrait

Nigel William Trevelyan Quinn

HydroEcological Engineering Advanced Decision Support (HEADS)
Group Leader

Phone: 510-486-7056
Fax: 510-486-7152
nwquinn@lbl.gov

Nina Kamennaya

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-8007
nkamennaya@lbl.gov

ESD portrait in studio Ping Hu. Earth Sciences

Ping Hu

Principle Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-5908
phu@lbl.gov

Rebecca Anne Daly

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6584
radaly@lbl.gov

chakraborty-romy-portrait

Romy Chakraborty

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4091
Fax: 510-486-7152
rchakraborty@lbl.gov

Sarah Placella

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2795

Se Eun Ahn Ahn

Phone: 510-495-2511

portrait_sharonborglin

Sharon E Borglin

Senior Research Scientist & Adjunct Associate Professor
Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-7515
seborglin@lbl.gov

Shi Wang

Research Associate

Phone: 510-495-2657
shiwang@lbl.gov

Sonali Hande

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4000
shande@lbl.gov

Stephen Morris

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5943
stephenmorris@lbl.gov

Taivan Batjargal

Phone: (510) 486-4000
TBatjargal@lbl.gov

Talia Nihmi Michel Jewell

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5736
tnjewell@lbl.gov

torok-tamas-portrait

Tamas Torok

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5808
Fax: 510-486-7152
ttorok@lbl.gov

portrait_terryhazen

Terry C. Hazen

Guest Sr Scientist
Affiliate

Phone: 707-631-6763
tchazen@lbl.gov

Tryg Lundquist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4715
tjlundquist@lbl.gov

Ulas Karaoz - Earth Sciences (ESD) portrait

Ulas Karaoz

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4118
ukaraoz@lbl.gov

Ulisses Nunes Da Rocha

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-8059
ununesdarocha@lbl.gov

silver-whendee-portrait

Whendee L. Silver

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6223
wlsilver@lbl.gov

William Ludington

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4000
wludington@lbl.gov

Xin Zhao

Phone: (510) 495-2987
ZXin@lbl.gov

Xinya Wen

Phone: 510-486-7487
xwen@lbl.gov

Yiwei Cheng - Earth Scienced Divison studio portrait.

Yiwei Cheng

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6762
yiweicheng@lbl.gov

piceno-yvette-portrait

Yvette M. Piceno

Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-4498
Fax: 510-486-7152
ympiceno@lbl.gov

Zhao Hao - ALS SSG studio portrait Advanced Light Source (ALS)

Zhao Hao

Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-7094
zhao@lbl.gov

Featured Publications

Hubbard, Susan S, Ajo-Franklin, Jonathan B, Dafflon, Baptiste, Dou, Shan, Kneafsey, Tim J, Peterson, John E, Tas, Neslihan, Torn, Margaret S, Phuong Tran, Anh, Ulrich, Craig 2015, Arctic ecosystem functional zones: identification and quantification using an above and below ground monitoring strategy, EGU General Assembly Conference Abstracts, 17, 4024

U.S. DOE, Steefel, C.I., Brodie, E.L., Koven, C.D. 2015, Building Virtual Ecosystems: Computational Challenges for Mechanistic Modeling of Terrestrial Environments: Workshop Report, (DOE/SC-0171)

Mackelprang, R., C.S. Jacobsen, J. Jansson, N. Tas  2015, Permafrost metagenomics and climate change, Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences, 43, (2)