Geochemistry

  • MassSpec-Kennedy-CIG

    Isotope Geochemistry

    Isotope geochemists develop and use isotopic ratio methods to study fundamental Earth Processes, as well as environmental and energy problems of national interest.

    Read More
  • 6a0133f32df47b970b0133f35829c5970b-800wi

    Reactive Transport Modeling

    This effort involves simulation and study of coupled mineral-water-gas reactive transport in unsaturated porous media.

    Read More

Overview

The Geochemistry Department of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Earth Sciences Division has its roots beginning with mapping the distribution of naturally occurring radioactive minerals (NORM) during the 1960s. From there, research expanded into geothermal energy and radioactive waste disposal research during the 1970s, officially becoming a department within the newly founded Earth Sciences Division (ESD) in 1977. A major shift in the Department’s focus towards more basic energy research occurred in 1988 with the arrival of Donald DePaolo (former director of ESD, now ALD for Berkeley Lab’s Energy Area) and the founding of the Center for Isotope Geochemistry. The 1990s represented a decade of expansion into geochemical research related to the Yucca Mountain project (including the initiation of the reactive transport group within geochemistry), climate research (which was spun off into the Climate Sciences Department in 2007), environmental remediation sciences and molecular-scale geochemical processes.

Core Capabilities

Environmental Geochemistry and Biogeochemical Cycling

This expertise includes synchrotron-based spectromicroscopic techniques, which are being used to unravel the chemical and physical heterogeneity of natural samples and quantify ecosystem biogeochemical cycling.

High Temperature Geochemistry

Our bench-scale studies utilize hydrothermal reactors of various types that permit experiments at temperatures up to 400°C and pressures up to 200MPa.

MassSpec-Kennedy-CIG

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope geochemists develop and use isotopic ratio methods to study fundamental Earth Processes, as well as environmental and energy problems of national interest. Several Earth Sciences Division research programs are supported through the Center for Isotope Geochemistry (CIG).

Waychunas-UHV-Lab

Molecular and Nano-geochemistry

This research field studies the fundamental, molecular-scale phenomena that underpin biogeochemical processes in the natural world and includes a significant effort addressing the properties and environmental roles of natural nanoparticles.

Reactive Transport Modeling

This effort involves simulation and study of coupled mineral-water-gas reactive transport in unsaturated porous media.

Michael A Antonelli

Phone: (510) 486-4000

John A Apps

Phone: (510) 486-5193
JAApps@lbl.gov

Tyler J Arbour

Affiliate

Phone: (510) 219-1135
TJArbour@lbl.gov

Bhavna Arora - ESD studio portrait

Bhavna Arora

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-495-2163
Fax: 510-486-5686
barora@lbl.gov

Anirban Basu

Phone: (510) 486-4000
ABasu@lbl.gov

Lauren Beckingham - Earth Scienced Divison studio portrait.

Lauren E. Beckingham

Postdoctor Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5128
lecrandell@lbl.gov

Markus Bill - ESD portrait

Markus Bill

Scientific Engineer Associate

Phone: 510-486-5659
Fax: 510-486-5496
mbill@lbl.gov

Kristie A Boering

Phone: (510) 642-3472

Shaun Tylor Brown - ESD studio portrait. Earth Sciences

Shaun Tyler Brown

Senior Research Associate
Research Associate Principal

Phone: 510-486-5241
stbrown@lbl.gov

Carolyn Ann Cantwell

Phone: (510) 495-2388

XBD201104-00177.TIF

Chun-Long Chen

Phone: (510) 486-4739
ChunLongChen@lbl.gov

christensen-john-portrait

John Neil Christensen

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6735
Fax: 510-486-7152
jnchristensen@lbl.gov

conrad-mark-portrait

Mark Conrad

Isotopic Geochemist & Geologist
Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6141
Fax: 510-486-5496
msconrad@lbl.gov

Dipankar Dwivedi - Earth Scienced Divison studio portrait.

Dipankar Dwivedi

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4005
Fax: 510-486-5686
ddwivedi@lbl.gov

Lawrence Finnin

Phone: 510-486-4975
lefinnin@lbl.gov

Patricia Fox - Earth Sciences (ESD) portrait

Patricia M. Fox

Phone: 510-495-2037
pmfox@lbl.gov

George A Frye

Phone: (707) 579-9305
GAFrye@lbl.gov

ben_gilbert_portrait

Benjamin Gilbert

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2748
Fax: 510-486-5686
bgilbert@lbl.gov

Shelly Gulati

Phone: (209) 946-3178
SGulati@lbl.gov

Jeremy Hanlon

Phone: (510) 486-6555
JSHanlon@lbl.gov

Michael Holmboe

Phone: (510) 486-7393
MHolmboe@lbl.gov

Lawrence Hutchings - ESD studio portrait

Lawrence J. Hutchings

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7446
Fax: 510-486-5686
ljhutchings@lbl.gov

Marco Keiluweit

Phone: (510) 495-2057
MKeiluweit@lbl.gov

C Brenhin Keller

Phone: (510) 495-2224
CBKeller@lbl.gov

kennedy-burton-portrait

Burton M. Kennedy

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6451
Fax: 510-486-5686
bmkennedy@lbl.gov

Eunju Kim

Phone: (510) 486-6240
EunjuKim@lbl.gov

Regina Kirsch

Phone: (510) 486-6165
RKirsch@lbl.gov

karasaki-kenzi-portrait

Kevin Knauss

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5344
kgknauss@lbl.gov

Kazuya Kobayashi

Phone: (510) 486-7393
KKobayas@lbl.gov

Namhey Lee

Phone: (510) 486-7466
NLee@lbl.gov

lee-namhey-portrait

Namhey Lee

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-7466
nlee@lbl.gov

Yangyang Liu

Phone: (510) 486-7393
YYLiu@lbl.gov

Wei-Cheng Lo

Phone: (510) 486-6709

Francesco Femi Marafatto

Phone: (510) 486-4000

Elizabeth Mitnick

Phone: (510) 486-4000
EHMitnick@lbl.gov

Sergi Molins Rafa - Earth Sciences (ESD) portrait

Sergi Molins Rafa

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7540
Fax: 510-486-5686
smolins@lbl.gov

Satish Myneni

Phone: (510) 486-4591
SMyneni@lbl.gov

Rachel Neurath

Phone: (510) 486-7118

nico-peter-portrait

Peter S. Nico

Soil and Environmental Biogeochemist
Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7118
Fax: 510-486-5686
psnico@lbl.gov

owens-thomas-portrait

Thomas L. Owens

Phone: (510) 643-5061
TLOwens@lbl.gov

quinn-nigel-portrait

Nigel William Trevelyan Quinn

HydroEcological Engineering Advanced Decision Support (HEADS)
Group Leader

Phone: 510-486-7056
Fax: 510-486-7152
nwquinn@lbl.gov

Whitney Sandelin

Phone: (209) 327-3195
WSandelin@lbl.gov

Kathrin Schilling

Phone: (510) 486-6735
KSchilling@lbl.gov

Drew Siler - ESD studio portrait

Drew Lorenz Siler

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6322
dlsiler@lbl.gov

Rajshekhar Singh

Phone: (510) 495-2374
RSingh@lbl.gov

Susan E Spaulding

Phone: (510) 495-2748

spycher-nicolas-portrait

Nicolas Spycher

Staff Geological Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2388
Fax: 510-486-7714
nspycher@lbl.gov

Steefel_Carl

Carl I. Steefel

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7311
Fax: 510-486-5686
cisteefel@lbl.gov

stringfellow-william-portrait

William T. Stringfellow

Director, LBNL Environmental Measurements Laboratory
Environmental Engineer

Phone: 510-486-7903
Fax: 510-486-7152
wstringfellow@lbl.gov

Charuleka Varadharajan - Earth Scienced Divison studio portrait.

Charuleka Varadharajan

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-495-8890
Fax: 510-486-5686
cvaradharajan@lbl.gov

Roelof Versteeg

Phone: (510) 495-8890

Christoph Wanner

Phone: (510) 495-8147
CWanner@lbl.gov

James M Watkins

Phone: (510) 486-4000
JMWatkins@lbl.gov

waychunas-glenn-portrait

Glenn A. Waychunas

Group Leader, Molecular Geochemistry & Nanogeoscience
Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2224
Fax: 510-486-5686
gawaychunas@lbl.gov

Bastien Wild

Phone: (510) 486-5344

Li Yang

Phone: 510-486-4774
lyang@lbl.gov

Wenbo Yang

Phone: (510) 486-6141
WenboYang@lbl.gov

Xiu Yuan

Phone: 510-486-7684
xiuyuan@lbl.gov

Shuo Zhang

Phone: (510) 423-1294
ShuoZhang@lbl.gov

Mengqiang Zhu

Phone: (510) 643-9120
MZhu@lbl.gov

Featured Publications

Sengor, S. S., Singh, G., Dohnalkova, A., Spycher, N., Ginn, T. R., Peyton, B., Sani, R. K. 2014, Aggregation of biogenic U(IV) nanoparticles: Impact of different environmental conditions, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 247

Pornwongthong, P., Bill, M., Conrad, M., Mahendra, S. 2014, Characterization of 1,4-dioxane biodegradation by compound-specific isotope analysis, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 248

Stringfellow, W. T., Domen, J. K., Camarillo, M. K., Sandelin, W. L., Tinnacher, R., Jordan, P., Houseworth, J., Birkholzer, J. 2014, Characterizing compounds used in hydraulic fracturing: A necessary step for understanding environmental impacts, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 248

Bergmann, J. C., Costa, O. Y. A., Gladden, J. M., Singer, S., Heins, R., D'haeseleer, P., Simmons, B. A., Quirino, B. F. 2014, Discovery of two novel beta-glucosidases from an Amazon soil metagenomic library, Fems Microbiology Letters, 351, (2), 147-155

Newton, A. G., Kwon, K., Watanabe, N., Kozaki, T., Sposito, G. 2014, Effects of isomorphic substitution on the 2:1 clay mineral edge structure: Insights from atomistic simulations, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 248

Trebotich, D., Adams, M. F., Molins, S., Steefel, C. I., Shen, C. P. 2014, High-Resolution Simulation of Pore-Scale Reactive Transport Processes Associated with Carbon Sequestration, Computing in Science & Engineering, 16, (6), 22-31

Bazilevskaya, Ekaterina, Rother, Gernot, Mildner, David F. R., Pavich, Milan, Cole, David, Bhatt, Maya P., Jin, Lixin, Steefel, Carl I., Brantley, Susan L. 2015, How Oxidation and Dissolution in Diabase and Granite Control Porosity during Weathering, Soil Science Society of America Journal, (1), 55-73

Tinnacher, R. M., Holmboe, M., Davis, J. A., Tournassat, C., Bourg, I. 2014, Impacts of pore structure and diffusion-accessible porosity for calcium-bromide diffusion in sodium-montmorillonite, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 248

Brown, G. E., Levard, C., Cismasu, A. C., Michel, F. M., Dublet, G., Ma, R., Lowry, G. V. 2014, Interaction of engineered and natural nanoparticles (NPs) at solid-water, solid-organic matter, and solid-microbe interfaces, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 248

Marafatto, F. F., Strader, M. L., Gonzalez-Holguera, J., Schwartzberg, A., Gilbert, B., Pena, J. 2014, Mechanism of delta-MnO2 photoreduction probed by ultrafast pump-probe spectroscopy, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 247

Kwon, K. D., Refson, K., Sposito, G. 2014, Mechanistic understanding of Mn(IV) oxide reactivity through density functional theory, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 247

Bourg, I. C., Sposito, G. 2014, Molecular simulations of water in clay mineral nanopores, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 248

Tournassat, C., Bourg, I. C., Steefel, C. I. 2014, Quantification of the breakdown of modified Gouy-Chapman model for 2:1 salt background electrolyte: A molecular dynamic study, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 248

Shen, Y.R., G.A. Waychunas  2014, SFG studies of oxide-water interfaces: Protonation states, water polar orientations, and comparison with structure results from x-ray scattering, Vibrational Spectroscopy of Electrically Charged Interfaces, (10), 440

Welten, K. C., Nishiizumi, K., Owens, T. L., DePaolo, D. J. 2014, Thermal Neutron Fluences in Fragments of a Large L3-6 Chondritic Regolith Breccia, Meteoritics & Planetary Science, 49, A431-A431

Singer, D. M., Guo, H., Davis, J. A. 2014, U(VI) and Sr(II) sequestration in mesoporous materials: The importance of confined pore spaces, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 247