Geophysics

  • GMF-WideShot-2006

    Advanced Geophysical Instrumentation

    Scientists are developing innovative geophysical hardware and methods for subsurface imaging and monitoring with access to the Geosciences Measurement Facility.

    Read More
  • GeophysicalComputationFig16-crop

    Geophysical Computation for Modeling and Imaging

    Our geophysicists are developing efficient, 3D numerical codes for modeling geophysical attributes, mainly seismic and electromagnetic rock properties through seismic wave propagation and electromagnetic wave propagation and diffusion, respectively.

    Read More
  • RMBL-Field-Williams-Hubbard

    Environmental Geophysics

    Scientists develop new approaches for characterizing shallow subsurface properties and for monitoring complex processes associated with natural or induced subsurface perturbations.

    Read More
  • GeophysicsLab-Nakagawa

    Rock Physics and Coupled Dynamics

    Research in the laboratory increases our scientists experimental knowledge base for geophysical properties of rocks and sediments that are either not well described by conventional rock physics models or have yet to be fully exploited.

    Read More

Overview

Geophysics has been a core science at Berkeley Lab for over 30 years, predating the 1977 formation of the Earth Sciences Division (ESD) within the Lab. During the world energy crisis of the mid-1970s, keen interest arose in finding alternative sources of energy. Thus, a number of UC Berkeley/Berkeley Lab scientists began exploring the possibility of finding geothermal energy sources using advanced geophysical techniques. This interest led to geothermal field explorations in Northern California, Nevada, and Mexico. Such projects soon expanded into geophysical studies of potential nuclear waste storage sites, and were the beginnings of ESD.

Since then, in addition to continuing and expanding its geothermal studies (in response to the abiding interest in locating and developing alternative energy sources), the ESD Geophysics Department has expanded its mission and now conducts work on a wide variety of geotechnical problems for energy and environment. This work includes remediation projects at contaminated DOE sites, CO2 sequestration studies to mitigate the impacts of global warming, development and testing of new geophysical technologies for fossil energy and mining applications, geological and man-made hazard investigations, and basic research in geophysics. In these endeavors, ESD geophysicists employ subsurface modeling and imaging, laboratory and field-scale studies for varied applications including: mapping contaminant transport near the surface of polluted areas, identifying geothermal fluids, oil and gas deposits, and CO2 plumes, investigating earthquake and volcanic hazards, and locating unexploded ordnance (UXO).

Today, ESD Geophysics scientists, postdocs, research associates, and graduate students, carry out a wide range of advanced research in fundamental and applied geophysics. ESD Geophysics is currently driven by two primary objectives. One is to advance geophysical approaches for quantifying subsurface properties, including fluid properties, saturation, porosity, pore pressure, permeability, and in situ stress, from laboratory studies and field measurements at the earth surface and in boreholes. The other is the development of technologies for subsurface resource access and monitoring, such as seismically enhanced oil recovery, geomechanics-based subsurface-permeability enhancement and microearthquake based reservoir monitoring.

Core Capabilities

 

GMF-WideShot-2006

Advanced Geophysical Instrumentation

The focus of this research area is the development of innovative geophysical hardware and methodologies for subsurface imaging and monitoring, such as high-resolution borehole tomographic tools (radar and seismic), and micro-earthquake monitoring systems.

RMBL-Field-Williams-Hubbard

Environmental Geophysics

Research in this area combines the disciplines of geophysics, hydrogeology, statistics, and biogeochemistry to develop new approaches for characterizing shallow subsurface properties and for monitoring complex processes associated with natural or induced subsurface perturbations.

Geomechanics

Geomechanics is concerned with the elastic and/or poroelastic response of earth materials, typically in a scientific or engineering setting that involves fluids such as water or oil stored in earth reservoir.

GeophysicalComputationFig16-crop

Geophysical Computation for Modeling and Imaging

Our subsurface imaging research is now focused on combining multiple types of geophysical data sets to better quantify the subsurface and reduce ambiguity. The degree to which joint images of geophysical attributes can be used successfully to infer rock properties (fracture orientation, fracture density, temperature and fluid saturations) from geophysical attributes is also an active area of research. Complementing this imaging capability is our robust computational capability, the challenge for which is to develop accurate and efficient computer codes capable of modeling the seismic and electromagnetic response in complex geologic media.

GeophysicsLab-Nakagawa

Rock Physics and Coupled Dynamics

The relationships between geophysical attributes (such as seismic velocities and attenuation, electrical conductivity, and dielectric constant) and rock properties (such as porosity, permeability, and fluid saturation) are provided by rock-physics measurements and/or theoretical understanding.

Alejandro Morales

Phone: (510) 486-5967
ARMorales@lbl.gov

Alex Athey

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2728
aathey@lbl.gov

Amy Kenwell

Phone: 510-701-1089

Andrew Whittaker

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7829

Anh Phuong Tran - ESD studio portrait

Anh Phuong Tran

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5971
Fax: 510-486-5686
aptran@lbl.gov

Ankit Kumar Singh

Phone: (510) 326-2886
AnkitSingh@lbl.gov

Aydin Mert

Phone: (510) 486-7446
AMert@lbl.gov

Baptiste Dafflon - ESD portrait

Baptiste Dafflon

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4735
bdafflon@lbl.gov

romanowicz-barbara-portrait

Barbara A. Romanowicz

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-5690

jeremic-boris-portrait

Boris Jeremic

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7829
bjeremic@lbl.gov

Bozidar Stojadinovic

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-7035
bstojadinovic@lbl.gov

XBD200907-00232.TIF

Brian P. Bonner

Phone: 510-486-4308
bpbonner@lbl.gov

Chad Hobson

Research Associate

Phone: 678-227-8494
chobson@lbl.gov

Chris Hubbard - Earth Sciences Division portrait

Christopher George Hubbard

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-495-8148
cghubbard@lbl.gov

Craig Ulrich - ESD studio portrait

Craig Ulrich

Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-495-8891
Fax: 510-486-5686
culrich@lbl.gov

David Temple

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2728
dtemple@lbl.gov

Dimitri Bevc

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6709
dbevc@lbl.gov

vasco-donald-portrait

Donald W. Vasco

Hydrogeophysicist
Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5206
Fax: 510-486-5686
dwvasco@lbl.gov

dreger-douglas-portrait2

Douglas S. Dreger

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-1719

Emily Voytek

Phone: (510) 701-1089

gasperikova-erika-portrait

Erika Gasperikova

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4930
Fax: 510-486-5686
egasperikova@lbl.gov

majer-ernest-portrait

Ernest L. Majer

Energy Geophysicist
Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6709
elmajer@lbl.gov

Evan Um - ESD studio portrait

Evan S. Um

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2172
Fax: 510-486-5686
esum@lbl.gov

Gary M. Hoversten

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6455
gmhoversten@lbl.gov

XBD9905-01415-01.TIF

George A. Cooper

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5349

newman-gregory-portrait

Gregory A. Newman

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6887
Fax: 510-486-5686
ganewman@lbl.gov

Hans R. Wenk

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7894
hrwenk@lbl.gov

Hussain Jummah Al Salem

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6887
hjalsalem@lbl.gov

berryman-james-portrait

James G. Berryman

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5349
jgberryman@lbl.gov

Earth Sciences Portrait of Jamie Rector

James W. Rector

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-7820
jwrector@lbl.gov

Jean B. Savy

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4404
jbsavy@lbl.gov

Jeremy T Smith

Phone: (510) 486-5761
JTSmith@lbl.gov

jinsong-chen-portrait

Jinsong Chen

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6842
Fax: 510-486-5686
jchen@lbl.gov

peterson-john-portrait

John E. Peterson

Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4267
Fax: 510-486-5686
jepeterson@lbl.gov

John R. Haught

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6818
r_haught@lbl.gov

ajofranklin-jonathan-portrait

Jonathan Ajo-Franklin

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2728
jbajo-franklin@lbl.gov

Joseph Stefani

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6709
jstefani@lbl.gov

Justin G. Erspamer

Mechanical Engineer

Phone: 510-486-4438
jgerspamer@lbl.gov

williams-kenneth-portrait

Kenneth H. Williams

Geologist
Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-701-1089
Fax: 510-486-5686
khwilliams@lbl.gov

Lane R. Johnson

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4173
lrjohnson@lbl.gov

portrait_larrymyer

Larry R. Myer

Guest Scientist
Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6456
lrmyer@lbl.gov

Lawrence Hutchings - ESD studio portrait

Lawrence J. Hutchings

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7446
Fax: 510-486-5686
ljhutchings@lbl.gov

Leon Thomsen

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5349
lthomsen@lbl.gov

Mamun Miah

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4018
mmiah@lbl.gov

Marco Voltolini

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4093
mvoltolini@lbl.gov

Mark Meadows

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7316
mmeadows@lbl.gov

Meng Cai

Phone: (510) 486-5096
MCai@lbl.gov

Michael Wilt

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2728
mwilt@lbl.gov

commer-michael-portrait

Michael Commer

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6164
Fax: 510-486-5686
mcommer@lbl.gov

Michelle Robertson - Earth Scienced Divison studio portrait.

Michelle Robertson

Project Manager

Phone: 510-486-5096
mcrobertson@lbl.gov

Nathaniel James Lindsey

Research Associate Principal
Term Appointment

Phone: 510-486-5409
njlindsey@lbl.gov

sitar-nicholas-portrait

Nicholas Sitar

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5206
nsitar@lbl.gov

Nicholas Winter

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4308
nwinter@lbl.gov

Pabitra N. Sen

Affiliate

Phone: 510-898-1654
pnsen@lbl.gov

Petr Vitalievich Petrov

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-6596
pvpetrov@lbl.gov

Phil Harben

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5082
pharben@lbl.gov

long-philip-portrait

Philip E. Long

Deputy Lead, Sustainable Systems Science Focus Area
Project Scientist

Phone: 509-531-2987
Fax: 510-486-5686
pelong@lbl.gov

Ray D. Solbau

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6092
rdsolbau@lbl.gov

Robert Nadeau

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-3980
r_nadeau@lbl.gov

Robert Edward Danczak

Phone: (510) 701-1089

budnitz-robert-portrait

Robert Jay Budnitz

Project Scientist/Engineer

Phone: 510-486-7829
rjbudnitz@lbl.gov

Roland Gritto

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7316
rgritto@lbl.gov

Ruxun Zhang

Phone: (510) 495-2728
RuxunZhang@lbl.gov

Seth Saltiel

Phone: (510) 486-4018
SSaltiel@lbl.gov

Shan Dou

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-8325
sdou@lbl.gov

Stephen P. Jarpe

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4018
spjarpe@lbl.gov

Steve Breen

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5335

Steve Yabusaki

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4000
syabusaki@lbl.gov

pride-steven-portrait

Steven R. Pride

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2823
Fax: 510-486-5686
srpride@lbl.gov

daley-thomas-portrait

Thomas Daley

Geophysics Department Head
Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7316
Fax: 510-486-5686
tmdaley@lbl.gov

korneev-valeri-portrait

Valeri A. Korneev

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7214
Fax: 510-486-5686
vakorneev@lbl.gov

William Foxall

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5082
bfoxall@lbl.gov

Yuxin Wu - ESD studio portrait Earth Sciences

Yuxin Wu

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4793
Fax: 510-486-5686
ywu3@lbl.gov

Featured Publications

Hubbard, Susan S, Ajo-Franklin, Jonathan B, Dafflon, Baptiste, Dou, Shan, Kneafsey, Tim J, Peterson, John E, Tas, Neslihan, Torn, Margaret S, Phuong Tran, Anh, Ulrich, Craig 2015, Arctic ecosystem functional zones: identification and quantification using an above and below ground monitoring strategy, EGU General Assembly Conference Abstracts, 17, 4024

Dafflon, B. 2014, Baptiste Dafflon receives the 2013 Paul Niggli Medal Response, Swiss Journal of Geosciences, 107, (1), 134-134

Newman, G. A., Hohmann, G. W., Wannamaker, P. E. 2000, Detection of silicic magma in a layered earth using the magnetotelluric method

Mok, Chin Man, Hubbard, Susan, Chen, Jinsong, Suribhatla, Raghu, Kaback, Dawn Samara 2014, Development of HydroImage, A User Friendly Hydrogeophysical Characterization Software

Mamun, M., Blanco Martín, L., Foxall, W., , Rutqvist, J., Mullen, C., Hutchings, L. 2015, Dynamic hydro-geomechanical simulation of earthquakes induced by fluid injections in geothermal reservoirs, 40th Workshop on Geothermal Reservoir Engineering

Alumbaugh, D. L., Newman, G. A. 2000, Electromagnetic modeling of perfect conductors in an arbitrary host, Symposium on the Application of Geophysics to Engineering and Environmental Problems, 23-26 Apr 1995. , World Meeting Number 952 5006

Kneafsey, T.J., , Nakagawa, S., Dobson, P.F., Kennedy, B.M. 2015, Fracture sustainability in EGS systems—Results of laboratory studies, 40th Workshop on Geothermal Reservoir Engineering

Wullschleger, S.D., Boden, T.A., Graham, D.E., Hinzman, L.D., Hubbard, S.S., Iversen, C.M., Palanisamy, G., Riley, W.J., Rogers, A., Rowland, J.C., Thornton, P.E., Torn, M.S., Wilson, C.J. 2015, Next-Generation Ecosystem Experiments (NGEE Arctic): Phase 2 Renewal White Paper

Rutqvist, J., P.F. Dobson, J. Garcia, C. Hartline, C.M. Oldenburg, D.W. Vasco, and M. Walters 2013, Pre-stimulation coupled THM modeling related to the Northwest Geysers EGS Demonstration Project, Thirty Eighth Workshop on Geothermal Reservoir Engineering

Gangodagamage, Chandana, Rowland, J, Wilson, Cathy, Hubbard, Susan S, Wainwright, H, Liljedahl, Anna, Liang, Chao, Tweedie, Craig, Wullschleger, Stan D 2014, Predicting active layer thinkness using statistical learning from remotely-sensed high resolution data, Geophysical Research Letters, 51

Alumbaugh, D. L., Newman, G. A. 2000, Simulation of airborne electromagnetic measurements in three dimensional environments, Symposium on the Application of Geophysics to Engineering and Environmental Problems, 23-26 Apr 1995., World Meeting Number 952 5006

Mert, A., Fahjan, Y., Pinar, A., Hutchings, L. 2014, Strong Ground Motion Simulations Around Princes Islands Fault, Teknik Dergi, 25, (3), 6775-6804

Wainwright, H., Molins, S., Davis, J., Arora, B., Faybishenko, B., Krishnan, H., Hubbard, S., Flach, G., Denham, M., Eddy-Dilek, C., Moulton, D., Lipnikov, K., Miller, C., Miller, T., Freshley, M. 2015, Using ASCEM modeling and visualization to inform stakeholders of contaminant plume evolution and remediation efficacy at F-Basin Savannah River, WM 2015 Conference, SC-15156, SRNL-STI-2015-00027

Flach, G, Wainwright, H, Molins, S, Davis, J, Arora, B, Faybishenko, B, Krishnan, H, Hubbard, S, Flach, G, Denham, M 2015, USING ASCEM MODELING AND VISUALIZATION TO INFORM STAKEHOLDERS OF CONTAMINANT PLUME EVOLUTION AND REMEDIATION EFFICACY AT F-BASIN SAVANNAH RIVER, SC-15156