Hydrogeology

  • Advanced Process Modeling arch image

    Advanced Process Modeling

    Researchers are developing a quantitative understanding of the main physical and chemical processes that operate in geologic systems, and providing practically useful modeling tools for recovering, storing, and protecting subsurface fluid resources.

    Read More
  • SSSFAMicrobialObservatoryRifleCO

    Contaminant Hydrology

    Researchers are addressing the national and international need for subsurface contaminant characterization and remediation across a spectrum of approaches.

    Read More
  • Tim Kneafsey and Barry Freifeld in lab  burning methane hydrate made using ice as a starting material. Samples on the left are pure methane hydrate (far left) and methane hydrate in sand (38% porosity, 40% hydrate saturation).

    Reservoir Engineering

    Researchers are studying ways to enhance production of energy from subsurface reservoirs containing methane gas hydrates, geothermal energy, and oil and gas resources.

    Read More
  • slide2

    Imaging Our Earth’s Environment

    Concurrent X-ray CT imaging enables process quantification and visualization of the earth materials

    Read More

Overview

Hydrogeology has been an important component of Berkeley Lab’s Earth Sciences Division (ESD) since the Division’s inception in 1977 and together with geophysics and geochemistry researchers, addressed subsurface energy challenges at that time, which focused on geophysical characterization and numerical modeling of fracture flow, associated first with fundamental geosciences, geothermal energy exploration, and nuclear waste isolation and research activities heavily relied upon understanding flow and transport in the subsurface. Consisting of scientists, postdocs, research associates, and graduate students, the Hydrogeology Department was established in 1998.

Currently the broad range of cutting-edge research that is carried out is in fundamental and applied hydrology. The Hydrogeology Department has expertise in theoretical, experimental, field, and modeling approaches in a variety of research areas, among which are advanced process modeling, reservoir engineering, vadose-zone and fracture hydrology, contaminant hydrology, and coupled nonisothermal, geochemical, and geomechanical processes. The Hydrogeology Department addresses national needs in the areas of subsurface energy resources recovery, subsurface remediation, geological CO2 storage, and nuclear waste disposal, with a continued focus on mass and heat transport through porous and fractured earth materials under saturated and unsaturated conditions. The Department has a presence throughout all four ESD Program Areas, most notably within Energy Resources.

Core Capabilities

Advanced Process Modeling arch image

Advanced Process Modeling

Hydrogeology Department researchers are developing a quantitative understanding of the main physical and chemical processes that operate in geologic systems, and providing practically useful modeling tools for recovering, storing, and protecting subsurface fluid resources.

SSSFAMicrobialObservatoryRifleCO

Contaminant Hydrology

Hydrogeology Department researchers are addressing the national and international need for subsurface contaminant characterization and remediation across a spectrum of approaches—laboratory experiments, field tests, and theoretical and numerical investigations.

Coupled Processes

Hydrogeology Department researchers are addressing the complex field of coupled processes analysis through an integrated experimental and modeling effort, combining laboratory experiments and in situ tests, using advanced monitoring methods with sophisticated modeling analysis.

Tim Kneafsey and Barry Freifeld in lab  burning methane hydrate made using ice as a starting material. Samples on the left are pure methane hydrate (far left) and methane hydrate in sand (38% porosity, 40% hydrate saturation).

Reservoir Engineering

Hydrogeology Department researchers are studying ways to enhance production of energy from subsurface reservoirs containing methane gas hydrates, geothermal energy, and oil and gas resources.

Borehole-Field-Hydrology-Karasaki

Vadose-Zone and Fracture Hydrology

Hydrogeology Department researchers have made significant contributions to identifying the physical mechanisms, and developing modeling approaches and characterization/monitoring techniques, for flow and transport in fractures in both saturated and unsaturated systems.

Abdullah Cihan - Earth Sciences Division portrait

Abdullah Cihan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2997
acihan@lbl.gov

Alberto Mazzoldi

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4000
amazzoldi@lbl.gov

Andrea Borgia

Phone: (510) 486-4000
ABorgia@lbl.gov

Antonio Rinaldi - Earth Sciences Division portrait

Antonio Pio Rinaldi

Hydrogeology Department

Phone: 510-486-6525
aprinaldi@lbl.gov

Portrait of Barry Freifeld, Earth Sciences Division (ESD) Earth Sciences

Barry M. Freifeld

Mechanical Engineer

Phone: 510-486-4381
bmfreifeld@lbl.gov

faybishenko-boris-portrait

Boris A. Faybishenko

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4852
bafaybishenko@lbl.gov

Carolyn Ann Koh

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4414
cakoh@lbl.gov

portrait_chin-futsang

Chin-Fu Tsang

Senior Scientist
Affiliate

Phone: 510-710-7859
Fax: 510-486-5686
cftsang@lbl.gov

doughty-christine-portrait

Christine Doughty

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6453
Fax: 510-486-5686
cadoughty@lbl.gov

Chun Chang

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4000
chunchang@lbl.gov

radke-clayton-portrait

Clayton J. Radke

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-5204
clradke@lbl.gov

Cong Chen

Phone: (510) 486-4000
CongChen2@lbl.gov

oldenburg-curtis-portait

Curtis M. Oldenburg

Geologic Carbon Sequestration Program Lead
Geological Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7419
Fax: 510-486-5686
cmoldenburg@lbl.gov

Elizabeth Burton

Phone: (510) 486-6696
EBurton@lbl.gov

Frederic Cappa

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5432
fcappa@lbl.gov

moridis-george-portrait

George J. Moridis

Hydrocarbon Resource Program Head
Geological Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4746
Fax: 510-486-5686
gjmoridis@lbl.gov

George Shu Heng Pau CS studio portrait Computing Sciences

George Shu Heng Pau

Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7196
Fax: 510-486-5686
gpau@lbl.gov

Guoxiang Zhang

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6452
gxzhang@lbl.gov

Haruko Murakami  - Earth Sciences (ESD) portrait

Haruko Murakami Wainwright

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2038
Fax: 510-486-5686
hmwainwright@lbl.gov

portrait_hui-hailiu (1)

Hui-Hai Liu

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6452
hhliu@lbl.gov

javandel-iraj-portrait

Iraj Javandel

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6106
Fax: 510-486-5686
ijavandel@lbl.gov

Jacob Bear

Phone: (510) 486-4746

Jim Houseworth - Earth Scienced Divison studio portrait.

James E. Houseworth

Environmental Engineer
Program Manager

Phone: 510-486-6459
Fax: 510-486-5686
jehouseworth@lbl.gov

birkholzer-jens-portrait

Jens Birkholzer

Hydrogeologist
Division Deputy, Earth Sciences
Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7314
Fax: 510-486-5686
jtbirkholzer@lbl.gov

wan-jaimin-portrait

Jiamin Wan

Hydrogeochemical Research Lab
Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6004
Fax: 510-486-7797
jwan@lbl.gov

Jiangtao Zheng

Phone: (510) 486-4000
JZheng@lbl.gov

Jihoon Kim

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5793
jihoonkim@lbl.gov

XBD201408-01064.TIF

John Kearney Edmiston

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5719
jkedmiston@lbl.gov

rutqvist-jonny-portrait

Jonny Rutqvist

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5432
Fax: 510-486-5686
jrutqvist@lbl.gov

ahn-joonhong-portrait1

Joonhong Ahn

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-5107
jahn@lbl.gov

portrait_josephdoetsch

Joseph Doetsch

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: (510) 495-8074
JDoetsch@lbl.gov

portrait_joewang

Joseph (Joe) S. Wang

Staff Scientist
Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6753
Fax: 510-486-5686
jswang@lbl.gov

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Karsten Pruess

Senior Scientist
Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6732
Fax: 510-486-5686
k_pruess@lbl.gov

Keni Zhang - ESD studio portrait. Earth Sciences

Keni Zhang

Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7312
Fax: 510-486-5686
kzhang@lbl.gov

karasaki-kenzi-portrait

Kenzi Karasaki

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6759
kkarasaki@lbl.gov

Kunhwi Kim

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6976
kunhwikim@lbl.gov

XBD201302-01961.TIF

Laura Blanco Martin

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5456
lblancoMartin@lbl.gov

Lehua Pan - ESD portrait

Lehua Pan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2360
Fax: 510-486-5686
lpan@lbl.gov

Liange Zheng - ESD studio portrait Earth Sciences

Liange Zheng

Research Scientist
Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5502
Fax: 510-486-5686
lzheng@lbl.gov

lippmann-marcelo-portrait

Marcelo J Lippmann

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5035
mjlippmann@lbl.gov

Marco Bianchi

Phone: 510-495-8124
mbianchi@lbl.gov

Mario J. Magliocco

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4414
mjmagliocco@lbl.gov

Mark Zoback

Phone: (510) 486-4746
MZoback@lbl.gov

Mark I. Shvidler

Affiliate

Phone: 415-771-5005
mshvidler@lbl.gov

Matthew Reagan - ESD studio portrait. Earth Sciences

Matthew T. Reagan

Geological Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6517
Fax: 510-486-5686
mtreagan@lbl.gov

Michael Manga with Volcano experiment to simulate volcanic eruption - McCCone Hall UC campus. Earth Sciences

Michael Manga

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-485-8335
mmanga@lbl.gov

Mike Kowalsky - ESD portrait

Michael B. Kowalsky

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7314
Fax: 510-486-5686
mbkowalsky@lbl.gov

Noel Keen

Scientific Engineer Associate

Phone: 510-486-5140
ndkeen@lbl.gov

Peter Persoff

Chemist
Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5154
ppersoff@lbl.gov

Pierre Jeanne - ESD studio portrait

Pierre Jeanne

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6261
pjeanne@lbl.gov

Prem Kumar Bikkina

Phone: (510) 486-7684
PKBikkina@lbl.gov

jordan-preston-portrait

Preston D. Jordan

Research Associate Staff

Phone: 510-486-6774
pdjordan@lbl.gov

zhou-quanlin-portrait

Quanlin Zhou

Geological Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5748
Fax: 510-486-5686
qzhou@lbl.gov

Robert W. Zimmerman

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5432
rwzimmerman@lbl.gov

Robin Hui

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4746

Rohit Salve

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6416
Fax: 510-486-6608
r_salve@lbl.gov

Rong Li

Phone: 510-486-6004
rli@lbl.gov

Rui Fan

Guest Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6305
rfan@lbl.gov

benson_sally

Sally M. Benson

Guest Sr. Scientist
Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4000
smbenson@lbl.gov

wang-shibo-portrait

Shibo Wang

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4536
shibowang@lbl.gov

StefanFinsterle

Stefan A. Finsterle

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5205
Fax: 510-486-5686
safinsterle@lbl.gov

Sumit Mukhopadhyay - ESD studio portrait

Sumit Mukhopadhyay

Research Scientist
Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2440
Fax: 510-486-5686
smukhopadhyay@lbl.gov

Teamrat A. Ghezzehei

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5205
taghezzehei@lbl.gov

tokunaga-tetsu-portrait

Tetsu K. Tokunaga

Hydrogeochemical Research Lab
Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7176
Fax: 510-486-5686
tktokunaga@lbl.gov

portrait_tianfuxu

Tianfu Xu

Staff Scientist
Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7057
Fax: 510-486-5686
tianfu_xu@lbl.gov

kneafsey-tim-portrait

Tim Kneafsey

Staff Scientist
Geological Scientist & Mechanical Engineer

Phone: 510-486-4414
Fax: 510-486-5686
tjkneafsey@lbl.gov

Weijun Shen

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6004
wshen@lbl.gov

Wenming Dong - ESD studio portrait

Wenming Dong

Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-7499
wenmingdong@lbl.gov

William Dietrich

Phone: 510-642-2633

Xiaoming Sun

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2983
xiaomingsun@lbl.gov

Xiaoyi Liu - ESD studio portrait

Xiaoyi Liu

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-495-8232
xiaoyiliu@lbl.gov

Xiaoyu Wang

Phone: 510-495-2360
xiaoyuwang@lbl.gov

Yang Ju

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6452
yju@lbl.gov

Yaning Liu - ESD studio portrait

Yaning Liu

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5592
Fax: 510-486-5686
yaningliu@lbl.gov

Yingqi Zhang - Earth Scienced Divison studio portrait.

Yingqi Zhang

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2983
Fax: 510-486-5686
yqzhang@lbl.gov

Yiwei Cheng - Earth Scienced Divison studio portrait.

Yiwei Cheng

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6762
yiweicheng@lbl.gov

Yongman Kim - Earth Scienced Divison studio portrait.

Yongman Kim

Hydrogeology Department

Phone: 510-486-4566
ymkim@lbl.gov

Yoojin Jung - Earth Sciences (ESD) portrait

Yoojin Jung

Scientific Engineer Associate

Phone: 510-486-7684
yoojinJung@lbl.gov

portrait_yu-shuwu

Yu-Shu Wu

Guest Scientist
Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7291
Fax: 303-273-3189
yswu@lbl.gov

Yuan Wang

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2983
yuanwang@lbl.gov

Yvonne T. Tsang

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7047
yttsang@lbl.gov

portrait_zacharysubin

Zachary M. Subin

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6914
Fax: 510-486-5686
zmsubin@lbl.gov

Featured Publications

Hubbard, Susan S, Ajo-Franklin, Jonathan B, Dafflon, Baptiste, Dou, Shan, Kneafsey, Tim J, Peterson, John E, Tas, Neslihan, Torn, Margaret S, Phuong Tran, Anh, Ulrich, Craig 2015, Arctic ecosystem functional zones: identification and quantification using an above and below ground monitoring strategy, EGU General Assembly Conference Abstracts, 17, 4024

Stringfellow, W. T., Domen, J. K., Camarillo, M. K., Sandelin, W. L., Tinnacher, R., Jordan, P., Houseworth, J., Birkholzer, J. 2014, Characterizing compounds used in hydraulic fracturing: A necessary step for understanding environmental impacts, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 248

Poskas, P., Narkuniene, A., Grigaliuniene, D., Finsterle, S. 2014, Comparison of Radionuclide Releases from a Conceptual Geological Repository for Rbmk-1500 and Bwr Spent Nuclear Fuel, Nuclear Technology, 185, (3), 322-335

Mamun, M., Blanco Martín, L., Foxall, W., , Rutqvist, J., Mullen, C., Hutchings, L. 2015, Dynamic hydro-geomechanical simulation of earthquakes induced by fluid injections in geothermal reservoirs, 40th Workshop on Geothermal Reservoir Engineering

Pan, L., Spycher, N., Doughty, C., Pruess, K. 2015, ECO2N V. 2.0: A New TOUGH2 Fluid Property Module for Mixtures of Water, NaCl, and CO2, ((pending))

Finsterle, S. 2015, Enhancements to the TOUGH2 Simulator as Implemented in iTOUGH2

Oldenburg, C.M.  2015, EOS7CA Version 1.0: TOUGH2 Module for Gas Migration in Shallow Subsurface Porous Media Systems

Odunowo, T. O., Moridis, G. J., Blasingame, T. A., Olorode, O. M., Freeman, C. M. 2014, Evaluation of Well Performance for the Slot-Drill Completion in Low- and Ultralow-Permeability Oil and Gas Reservoirs, Spe Journal, 19, (5), 748-760

Sharma, P., Tsang, C.F., Doughty, C.A., Niemi, A. 2015, Feasibility of long-term monitoring of deep hydrogeology with flowing fluid electric conductivity logging method, Dynamics of Fluids and Transport in Fractured-Porous Media

Kneafsey, T.J., , Nakagawa, S., Dobson, P.F., Kennedy, B.M. 2015, Fracture sustainability in EGS systems—Results of laboratory studies, 40th Workshop on Geothermal Reservoir Engineering

Faybishenko, B., and T.J. Nicholson (eds.), et al.  2014, Groundwater Vulnerability: The Chernobyl Nuclear Disaster

Riley, W. J., Tang, J. Y., Bisht, G., Koven, C. D., Ghimire, B., Pau, G. 2014, Integrating fine-scale microbial dynamics, transport, and abiotic interactions into the global land model CLM4.5, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 247

Magnusdottir, L., S. Finsterle 2015, iTOUGH2-EOS1SC: Multiphase Reservoir Simulator for Water under Sub- and Supercritical Conditions: User’s Guide.

Faybishenko, B. and T. Nicholson  2014, Lessons learned from assessment of groundwater vulnerability at Chernoby, Groundwater Vulnerability: Chernobyl Nuclear Disaster (in press)

Jung, Y., Q. Zhou, and J.T. Birkholzer  2015, On the detection of leakage pathways in geological CO2 storage systems using pressure monitoring data: Impact of model uncertainties, Advances Water Resources (submitted)

Rutqvist, J., P.F. Dobson, J. Garcia, C. Hartline, C.M. Oldenburg, D.W. Vasco, and M. Walters 2013, Pre-stimulation coupled THM modeling related to the Northwest Geysers EGS Demonstration Project, Thirty Eighth Workshop on Geothermal Reservoir Engineering

Ding, Y.D., Wu, Y.-S., Farah, N. 2015, Simulation of the impact of fracturing fluid induced formation damage in shale gas reservoirs, SPE Reservoir Simulation Symposium

Oldenburg, C. M., Pan, L. H. 2014, Simulations of porous media compressed air energy storage (PM-CAES) with CO2 as cushion gas, Abstracts of Papers of the American Chemical Society, 248

Wang, Z., Rutqvist, J., Wang, Y., Leung, C., Hoch, A., Dai, Y. 2014, The Effect of Stress on Flow and Transport in Fractured Rock Masses Using an Extended Multiple Interacting Continua Method with Crack Tensor Theory, Nuclear Technology, 187, (2), 158-168

Pangle, L.A., Dietrich, W.E., et al.  2015, The Landscape Evolution Observatory: A large-scale controllable infrastructure to study coupled Earth-surface processes, Geomorphology

Wainwright, H., Molins, S., Davis, J., Arora, B., Faybishenko, B., Krishnan, H., Hubbard, S., Flach, G., Denham, M., Eddy-Dilek, C., Moulton, D., Lipnikov, K., Miller, C., Miller, T., Freshley, M. 2015, Using ASCEM modeling and visualization to inform stakeholders of contaminant plume evolution and remediation efficacy at F-Basin Savannah River, WM 2015 Conference, SC-15156, SRNL-STI-2015-00027

Flach, G, Wainwright, H, Molins, S, Davis, J, Arora, B, Faybishenko, B, Krishnan, H, Hubbard, S, Flach, G, Denham, M 2015, USING ASCEM MODELING AND VISUALIZATION TO INFORM STAKEHOLDERS OF CONTAMINANT PLUME EVOLUTION AND REMEDIATION EFFICACY AT F-BASIN SAVANNAH RIVER, SC-15156