Current BSISB Members:

Hoi-Ying Holman

Hoi-Ying N. Holman
Principal Investigator

Director, Berkeley Synchrotron Infrared Structural Biology (BSISB) Program

Ph.D., Environmental Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley. Explore and answer fundamental questions in bioenergy, biomedicine, and environmental health through the development of physical, chemical, and computational strategies in chemical imaging of living cells.

Extraordinary Support Staff:

Theresa PollardTheresa Pollard
Division & BSISB Support Coordinator
Sherry SeyboldSherry Seybold
Web Developer and Technical Illustrator
Brian TaylorBryan Taylor
IT Support
Carol ValladaoCarol Valladao
Budget Manager

Staff Researchers

Hans Bechtel

Hans Bechtel (ALS)
Advanced Optical Design and Application Specialist
Vibrational Spectromicroscopy Specialist

Tel: 510-486-7519
Ph.D. Stanford University
Web site:

Liang Chen

Liang Chen (ESD)

Tel: 510-486-5738
Ph.D. Biophysics, Stanford University, 2009




Ping HuPing Hu (ESD)
System Biology Specialist

Tel: 510-486-5908
Ph.D., Biochemistry, Rutgers University



Michael MartinMichael Martin (ALS)
Staff Scientist
Deputy Director, Berkeley Synchrotron Infrared Structural Biology Program

Tel: 510-495-2231
Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook
Web site:


Post-Doctoral Researchers


Kevin LoutherbackKevin Loutherback (ESD)

Tel: 510-486-2658
Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, Princeton University, 2011





Luis Ardila-PerezLuis Ardila-Perez (EGEE)
Postbacclaureate Student Assistant

Tel: 510-859-7540
B.S. Electrical Engineering, Univerfsidad Nacional de Colombia, 2011




 ALS = Advanced Light Source; EGEE = Engineering Division; ESD = Earth Science Division; LS = Life Science Division


Francis Blankenberg
Professor, Stanford School of Medicine, Stanford University

Christine Moissl-Eichinger
Professor, Microbiology,
Jamie Cate
Professor, University of California, Berkeley
Albert Pisano
Professor, University of California, Berkeley
Greg Enns
Professor, Stanford School of Medicine, Stanford University
Richard Saykally
Professor,  College of Chemistry, UCB
Christer Jansson
Sr. Staff Scientist, Earth Sciences Division, LBNL
Allen Taylor
Prof. Friedman School of Nutrition and Policy, Tufts Univ.
Michael Martin
Staff Scientist, Advanced Light Source, LBNL
John Vogel
Research Molecular Biologist, USDA
Robin Miles
Engineer and Group Leader of Microtechnology
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Evan Williams
Faculty Scientist, ESD, LBNL
Professor,  College of Chemistry, UCB

Former Members:

Dr. Rafael Gómez-Sjöberg

Principal Engineer, Quanticel Pharmaceuticals

San Francisco, CA


Dr. Kristina Woods
Professor, Physics Department,
Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA.


Dr. Zhang Lin
Professor, Fujian Institute of Research on the
Structure of Matter, Chinese Academy of Sciences,
Fujian, China.


Dr. Eleanor Wozei
Professor, The Public Health and Environmental Engineering Laboratory,
Department of Civil Engineering, Makerere University,
Kampala, Uganda.


Camilo Diaz-Botia, PhD. Student, Dept. of Biochemistry and Biophysics, UC San Francisco and UC Berkeley

Carlos Duarte-Guevara, Ph.D. Student, Dept. of Electrical Computer Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

Schuyler Kain, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Chemistry, University of Wisconsin

Darcie Long, Ph.D. Student, Department of Chemistry, John Hopkins University

Allison Nielsen, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine, UC Davis

Qiyao Yang, M.D. Student, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Ingrid Zubieta, M.S., Industrial Hygienist, UCLA-LOSH.