Earth Sciences Division (ESD) Department of Energy (DOE) Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)

Space Management (Facilities Management)

The Berkeley Lab's policy on space management is to maximize the use of this resource in a planned, judicious, and cost-effective manner while minimizing disruption of activities. The Laboratory Director has delegated the implementation of this policy and the authority to allocate space in all Berkeley Lab–managed property to the Associate Laboratory Director for Operations (ALDO), assisted by the Facilities Planning staff. Each Division is responsible for managing the utilization of space assigned to it. Facilities Planning works with each Division to monitor compliance with space utilization policy.

Each Division Director designates a Division space coordinator, who serves as the point of contact for the division's space information.

Space Coordinators

  • Lab and field-facilities space - Ernie Majer, x6709
  • Office and support space - Peter Lau, x5570
  • Space Coordination - Ronnie Woods, RJWoods@lbl.gov

Space Reservations

A space reservation Google Calendar which displays current space reservations and availability is for Host Supervisors and their guests to submit reservation requests for short term, occaisional visits to the Earth Sciences Division at LBNL. Please preview availability on the Google Calendar and/or contact the space coordinator should any reservation be over 1 month (40 hours/week) to ensure availability.

Move Advisory Committee

In July (2009), the Move Advisory Committee was formed by the Earth Sciences Division Director to represent a broad view of move issues as well as weigh the pros and cons of moving part or all of the Division off-site. The committee meets on an ad hoc basis and is convened by one of the Division Space Coordinators or the Division Director. The committee will advise the Division Director on issues, facilitate communication of issues and information throughout the Division, and support activities in response to Facilities or the Directorate's request.

The committee members are:

Name Department(s)
(510) 486- E-mail Address
Don DePaolo (Division Director) Division, Geochemistry
7560 DJDepaolo@lbl.gov
Ernie Majer (MAC Co-Chair)
Division, Geophysics
6709 ELMajer@lbl.gov
Maryann Villavert (MAC Co-Chair)
Division, Operations
7357 MVillavert@lbl.gov
Jonathan Ajo-Franklin
Geophysics
495-2728
JBAjo-Franklin@lbl.gov
Gary Andersen
Ecology
5380
GLAndersen@lbl.gov
Krys Avina
Operations
5380 KAvina@lbl.gov
Jeffrey Chambers Climate Science
495-2932
JChambers@lbl.gov
Bill Collins
Climate Science
495-2407
WDCollins@lbl.gov
Mark Conrad
Geochemistry
6141
MSConrad@lbl.gov
Stefan Finsterle
Hydrogeology
5205
SAFinsterle@lbl.gov
Janet Jansson
Ecology
4787
JRJansson@lbl.gov
Laura Kirkendorfer
Operations 7649 LGKirkendorfer@lbl.gov
Tim Kneafsey Geophysics, Hydrogeology 4414 TJKneafsey@lbl.gov
Hui-Hai Liu
Hydrogeology
6452
HHLiu@lbl.gov
Greg Newman
Geophysics 6887
GANewman@lbl.gov
Curt Oldenburg Hydrogeology 7419 CMOldenburg@lbl.gov
Eric Sonnenthal
Geochemistry
5866
ELSonnenthal@lbl.gov
Tetsu Tokunaga
Hydrogeology
7176
TKTokunaga@lbl.gov
Ronnie Woods (Space Coordination)
Operations
4223
RJWoods@lbl.gov

Related Links

Contacts/More Information
  • Ernie Majer, ESD Senior Advisor, elmajer@lbl.gov, (510) 486-6709
  • Peter Lau, ESD Business Manager, pklau@lbl.gov, (510) 486-5570

For a complete description of these and all other policies, please refer to the LBNL RPM at: http://www.lbl.gov/Workplace/RPM/.